Undergraduate Faculty & Instructors

Amy Quan Barry, Lorraine Hansberry Professor of English, Poetry Faculty (MFA: University of Michigan) is the author of the poetry collections AsylumControvertiblesWater Puppets, and Loose Strife, as well as the novels She Weeps Each Time You’re BornWe Ride Upon Sticks, which was awarded the American Library Association’s Alex Award, and the 2022 release When I’m Gone, Look for Me in the East. Barry is one of a select group of writers to receive NEA fellowships in both poetry and fiction. She was Forward Theater’s first ever Writer-in-Residence, and her first play production, The Mytilenean Debate, will be staged in spring 2022.

Leila Chatti, Mendota Lecturer in Poetry (MFA: North Carolina State University) is a Tunisian-American poet and author of Deluge (Copper Canyon Press, 2020) and the chapbooks Ebb (Akashic Books, 2018) and Tunsiya/Amrikiya. Her honors include a Pushcart Prize, grants from the Barbara Deming Memorial Fund and the Helene Wurlitzer Foundation, and fellowships from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing, and Cleveland State University, where she was the inaugural Anisfield-Wolf Fellow in Publishing and Writing. Her poems appear in The New York Times MagazinePOETRYPloughsharesTin HouseAmerican Poetry Review, and elsewhere.

Dantiel W. Moniz, Assistant Professor of English, Fiction Faculty (MFA: University of Wisconsin) is the recipient of a National Book Foundation “5 Under 35” Award, a Pushcart Prize, a MacDowell Fellowship, and the Alice Hoffman Prize for Fiction. Her debut collection, Milk Blood Heat, is an Indie Next Pick and longlisted for the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award and the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize. Her work has appeared in the Paris ReviewHarper’s BazaarAmerican Short FictionTin House, and elsewhere.

Porter Shreve, Mark and Elisabeth Eccles Professor of English, Director of Creative Writing, Fiction Faculty (MFA: University of Michigan) is the author of the novels The Obituary WriterDrives Like a DreamWhen the White House Was Ours, and The End of the Book, which have been on best of the year lists in many newspapers and magazines including the Chicago Tribune, the San Francisco Chronicle, and the New York Times. Co-editor of three anthologies and three textbooks, his fiction, nonfiction, Op-Eds, and book reviews have appeared in WitnessSalon, the Chicago Tribune, the Boston Globe, the San Francisco Chronicle, the Washington Post, the New York Times, and other publications.

Sean Bishop, Program Administrator, Teaching Faculty (MFA: University of Houston) is Editor of the Wisconsin Poetry Series. His collection of poems, The Night We’re Not Sleeping In, won the Kathryn A. Morton Prize and the Edna Meudt Poetry Award, and appeared from Sarabande Books. He is the recipient of the Poetry Foundation’s Ruth Lilly Poetry Fellowship and the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing’s Diane Middlebrook Poetry Fellowship, and his poems have appeared in Best New PoetsHarvard ReviewPloughsharesPOETRY, and elsewhere. He is the former Managing Editor of Gulf Coast and Better (bettermagazine.org).

Ron Kuka, Program Coordinator, Faculty Associate (MFA: University of Iowa) has published short stories in the Iowa Journal of Literary Studies, Toyon, and Pavement. His teaching has been recognized with the Chancellor’s Hilldale Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Beth (Bich Minh) Nguyen, Professor of English, Director of Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing, Fiction & Nonfiction Faculty (MFA: University of Michigan) is the author of the memoir Stealing Buddha’s Dinner, the novel Short Girls, the novel Pioneer Girl, and the forthcoming memoir Owner of a Lonely Heart. She has received an American Book Award and a PEN/Jerard Award and her work has appeared in publications including The New YorkerThe Paris ReviewTime MagazineThe New York Times, and Best American Essays. Her work has also been featured in numerous university and community reads programs.

Each year, the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing receives up to a thousand applications from some of the best emerging writers in the country. Six are selected to write for a year, contribute to the life of the university, and teach intermediate-level courses in fiction and poetry. Our undergraduates in creative writing work with both established authors and the stars of tomorrow. You can read the biographies of current fellows and view the list of past fellows here.

Many of our introductory courses in creative writing are taught by MFA candidates in poetry or fiction. The University of Wisconsin-Madison’s MFA program is among the most competitive in the country. Instructors go through rigorous training in Creative Writing and Composition pedagogy and frequently win department teaching awards. MFA alums who have taught English 207 at UW have gone on to wide acclaim, and many are now professors at universities around the country.